Them Crazy Christians…(1 Co 15…)

Posted on 22/08/2012

0


Unfortunately, this is how those who do not know the Lord think. That we Christians are lost, and “more to be pitied than anyone in the world” – why? Because we believe in the resurrection…

Yes, it sounds crazy, after all, coming back to life doesn’t happen everyday, but it is what our faith is grounded on. Surely enough, if it didn’t happen, and the Gospels are wrong, then we have wasted our time because we are ‘…still guilty of our sins’.

To the Lord, the world’s doubt is no surprise – He has, throughout the ages, refused to work in accordance to what man expects Him to do, but the Bible tells us that He does it publically. God is personable and relatable and relevant, with a desire for everyone to be saved. We cannot say that He is not these things, when it was He Who decided at the foundation of the world, that He would send His Son (the visible image of God) to walk among humanity. Live with us, eat with us, minister to us, and suffer and die at the hands of us, and rise again in front of us…God lived a human life so that we cannot accuse Him of ‘not knowing how it feels’. Indeed, when we’re tempted, the Bible tells us we can come to Jesus, because He knows EXACTLY how it feels (being tempted in everyway), and yet He overcame – so we can trust that He will help us to overcome.

But did He overcome? Did He rise again? Was He Who He said He was, or am I following a myth no more grounded than fairies and pots of gold at the end of the rainbow?…well obviously I am going to say I’m not, but why?

Well to begin with, I trusted my parents – yes, I have what may be considered a bias view because I was brought up in a Christian household. Nevertheless I love and trust my parents. Sure they make mistakes, but…they’re not mental.

Secondly, I trust what I see, and what I learn – in the same way that we can only rely on our parents for so long in ‘growing up’, there comes a time in the Christian life where we have to learn to stand on our own two feet, and walk the walk, rather than just reciting religious jargon (I’ve been guilty of that before!) – God asks us to use our minds, to test all things, and to prove what we know to be true. He wants us to see Him with our intellect as well, because it gives us a firmer ground to stand on.

Thirdly, I trust my experience and witness. Or at least the experiences that I know have been shared with others. I’ve experienced the Lord speaking to me. I’ve experienced a change of heart, and witnessed changes of heart in others. I’ve experienced the capacity to love in ways that I know, by myself, I am not humanly capable of doing. I’ve experienced peace and calm in times of my life when I should have been distraught…and much more. There’s lots I haven’t experienced or witnessed, but I’ve a lifetime ahead of me, with an eternity more, so I’m not too picky about that.

Finally I know I can trust the Bible. Not only does it speak to me in every circumstance and situation I am facing, but it makes sense, and I don’t have to look too far to find evidence to back it up. I believe Paul when he says “Why should we ourselves risk our lives hour by hour? For I swear, dear brothers and sisters, that I face death daily…” – What benefit would he have if all of this was in vain?

I understand I don’t know all the answers, and I know to some of you it will sound crazy – but believing in the resurrection and experiencing Jesus, to me is less crazy than believing I am here by accident, and that there is nothing bigger…This world is too big, and creation too beautiful, for me to thing that I am the greatest thing in it.

Posted in: Devotionals